This project is read-only.

Mindscape Lightspeed

Apr 18, 2009 at 9:01 AM
how do you compare with Lightspeed http://www.mindscape.co.nz/products/lightspeed/default.aspx ?

Apr 19, 2009 at 4:12 AM
Edited Apr 19, 2009 at 11:41 AM

Hi dracnet, 

I'm not an expert in Mindscape Lightspeed, but I've seen many differences so far:

* The most obvious one is that we are LGPL, free of any cost even for companies, while Lightspeed is a product. 

*Also, the philosophy is different. They are flexible, allowing Domain Driven (entities first) or drag and drop tables (DB first). We are not. We are focuses on domain driven (entities first) only. 

* They encourage Unit Of Work pattern, while we differentiate from ObjectCache and Transaction (no DataContext).

* When there's communication,we encourage sending entities to the client application, while Lighspeed entities have to be attached to a data context, so they are confined to theserver and DTO have to be created. 

* Also, we encourage the entities to be written by hand, in order to make it easy to add validation,while they use a designer.

* Finally, for us the ORM is maybe the more important step, but just the beginning to create a framework for building LOB applications. We also provide facilities for WPF interfaces, and working on ASP.Net MVC, our aim is to provide application modules that can be easily integrated in any application that uses Signum Framework. 

I've found MindScape much closer to LINQ to SQL or Entity Framework than to Signum Framework. IMO Mindscape is a good choice if you planning to use LINQ with a DBMS different to SQL Server. We are playing another game.

Thanks for your question :)

Apr 19, 2009 at 7:42 AM
Edited Apr 19, 2009 at 7:49 AM
Many thanks for your answer
just FYI:
http://www.mindscape.co.nz/forums/Thread.aspx?ThreadID=1870

Apr 19, 2009 at 12:28 PM
Edited Apr 19, 2009 at 12:46 PM